The New South Wales Association of Psychiatry Trainees (NAPT) is a not-for-profit organisation which aims to represent, support and advocate for psychiatry trainees in NSW.

Our committee comprises elected NSW psychiatry trainees and includes representatives from each training network and subspecialty advanced training program. We also have liaison members from the Branch Training Committee (BTC), Psychiatry State Training Council (PSTC) and Trainee Representative Committee (TRC).

In 2015 we hosted several events including the Inaugural Welcome Drinks, Academic Symposium, and Advanced Training and Subspecialty Information Night. We hope to bring psychiatry trainees together at a range of social, educational and information events each year.

Professor The Honourable Dame Marie Bashir AD, CVO has honoured NAPT by agreeing to act as our patron.

NAPT is open to all accredited psychiatry trainees in NSW, and other applicants upon consideration by the committee. Membership is free and new members are always welcome. Please sign up on our membership page and join our Facebook group.

Our Committee comprises elected NSW psychiatry trainees and includes representatives from each of the training networks and subspecialty advanced training programs. We also provide representatives to the RANZCP NSW Branch Training Committee (BTC) and NSW Branch Committee, and endeavour to work closely with trainee representatives on the RANZCP Trainee Representative Committee (TRC) and HETI Psychiatry State Training Council (PSTC). The Committee acts as a central body of knowledge related to psychiatry training in NSW, advocates for trainees and their patients, promotes and advocates for trainee welfare and wellbeing, and organises educational and informational events for psychiatry trainees.

The NAPT committee is a group of elected trainees from across the state. The committee is comprised of both basic and advanced trainees, in addition to co-opted members. The committee meets monthly, with an informal dinner approximately every third meeting. We welcome all NAPT members as observers at meetings. Please contact us for details at

If you have comments or suggestions for the website, contact

Executive Officers

  • President: Sarah Dorrington;

  • Vice President: Charles Betts;

  • Secretary: Peter Xie;

  • Treasurer: Erin Dougherty.

Special Duties and Project Managers

Area Representatives

  • Hunter New England: Stephanie Roland, Kristy Rebello;

  • South Eastern Sydney Illawarra: Rohini Vasudevan, Joel Adams-Bedford;

  • Sydney Western and Greater Southern: Charlie Hayek, Maryam Nesvaderani;

  • Northern Sydney Central Coast: Hindol Mukherjee, Bernard Myers;

  • Sydney South West North Coast: Tuck Lam Ngun, Rikki White;

  • Rural Representative: Joanne Lim, Nivanka De Silva.

Advanced Trainee Representatives:

  • Consultation-Liaison: Vanessa Crawford;

  • Child and Adolescent: Daniel You;

  • Forensics: Claire Keating;

  • Addiction: Mahmoud Elsayed;

  • Psychotherapies: position open;

  • General Psychiatry: Su Lynn Cheah;

  • Old Age: Tali Sundakov-Krumins.

Co-opted and External Committee Representatives

  • RANZCP Trainee Representative Committee: Khushboo Baheti;

  • RANZCP NSW Branch Training Committee: Paran Nadaswaranee;

  • RANZCP NSW Branch Committee: Andrew Belford.

Member Login
Welcome, (First Name)!

Forgot? Show
Log In
Enter Member Area
My Profile Log Out